Postcard From Europe – The Good Eats Edition

DSC_0323

Pastries at grangusto

This foodie was in heaven! Tip for traveling foodies: Taking a foodie and wine-loving friend with you to the home of some of the most delicious food on the planet is always a good idea! For one, it makes things easier when you have someone to enjoy the goodness with you and not complain or wimp out on the chance to try something new and it s also great to have someone to push you into something you might be trying to wimp out of. Because the ship docked early in the morning and left around 6pm my dinners were had on the boat but breakfast and lunch were enjoyed on land where I could get a taste of what each location had to offer.

We visited three ports in Italy: Pisa, Civitavecchia and Napoli, We also visited Palma De Mallorca, Spain and Marseille, France. . While in Italy I did have pizza (in Pisa) I didn’t go looking for pizza though (not in Italy or anywhere else)I was in search of fresh pastas and breads, mozzarella and homemade pesto, I wanted real Italian pastries and cappuccino and above all I was looking for WINE!!!!

And I certainly found it!

Since January I’ve developed an affinity for Sangiovese, a delicious Italian red grape that I first had a taste of at a tiny family owned restaurant in D.C., . I was both disappointed and proud of myself when I stuck with the same red I usually have here in the states. Proud that the Italian red I usually down on a Thursday night while watching Scandal can be easily found in its motherland and disappointed that I didn’t really try anything new. I am sure worse travel crimes have been committed.

In Marseille I had wonderful sweet white From Pigoudet and in Palma De Mallorca I went with a tasty very large serving of sangria… Yes, touristy, I know! I promise to be more adventurous next time. I was really seeking out the same Italian/French/Spanish dishes I could find here in the states to compare the authentic recipes and qualities with what I am used to at home, most notably calamari. I ate so much calamari I could hardly keep track and I have had it a few times since I returned. I’m hoping this phase will end soon.

DSC_0764

I found macaroons!!!! Macaroons are super hard to come by in South Florida so this was a must have while in Europe.  Other desserts enjoyed while abroad included a flawless, luscious, mouthgasmic tiramisu at a cute French restaurant “Au Bout Du Quai,” and  a delicious hazelnut gelato at the mall in Pisa.

DSC_0220The discovery of mustard dressing had me mixing up my own rendition when I got home, the stuff was amazing. The dressing was served on my chicken salad at a cute little bistro in Marseille. In addition to mustard dressing crafting other habits I’ve picked up since my trip include frequent use of olive oil and balsamic vinegar (olive oil was already in heavy rotation around these parts), rosemary , lots of mozzarella and tomatoes, the desire for fresh sliced prosciutto, lots of pellegrino, a few ciabattta rolls here and there, a rosemary boule that I picked up at the fresh market today and the episodes in which I am compelled to have a glass of red wine with my lunch and cappuccino after each meal. Some habits are obviously more sustainable than others but all in all I am glad to have had such a tasty learning experience.

Enjoy a few pictures of my foodie Adventures in Europe below! ALSO, ASK ME QUESTIONS!

DSC_0480 DSC_0482 DSC_0589 DSC_0687 DSC_0939 DSC_0941 DSC_0986 DSC_1008 DSC_1068 DSC_1070

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

