Sizzle Sizzle Griddle! – Tuna and Fried rice

 

20130116-111407.jpg

A few weeks ago, Ok more like a month ago, I decided to grab some fish from the green market. I try to get out to get out to the green market every Saturday just to take a load off and get all of my marbles back in the bag before the Monday dragon rears its ugly head again. While I have stayed faithful to my produce counter, juice maker and Red Velvet Cider Doughnuts I figured I should probably make good use of the time and try to do some shopping for the entire week while I am there. I branched out from my usual vendors and tried out one of the fish vendors, lets just say that story ended very well!

20130116-111512.jpg

I am so used to the previously frozen and emaciated cuts of Tuna I have found in my Publix, Publix Green wise and the ridiculously priced steaks at Whole Foods and Fresh Market which were bigger that the Publix steaks but not always worth the hassle.

I wish I had noted the differences in the ounces in the average Supermarket steak to this vendors. Whatever the actual difference may be this beautiful piece of fish was significantly larger. The one tuna steak was large enough to serve 3.

Enough about my Fish Shopping Troubles. Below I have listed images and ingredients for my Benihana style fried rice with Vegetables.

20130116-111543.jpg

Ingredients

2 tablespoons of Sesame Oil

1 tablespoon of ginger spice blend

2 tablespoons spoons of Kerrygold Garlic Butter Softened

3-4 cups of mixed veggies (Carrots, Onions, Peppers)

1 Tablespoon of Sesame seeds

1 bag of Frozen brown rice

2 tablespoons of Teriyaki or stirfry sauce

Tuna Steaks  (Fresh or thawed)

Instructions

On one half of the griddle pour a little water to make a steam bed for the frozen rice

Let the  rice steam while you add you vegetables and Oil

Let the vegetab;es cook to your desired softness (I like mine to still have crunch)

Increase heat and begin to ‘stir’ the rice and vegetables together

Add garlic butter and continue to blend the rice and veggies

Add a tablespoon of water and a tablespoon of Teriyaki sauce and ginger spiceblend

Mix rice once more and remove from griddle (large spatula works best)

The Tuna was fairly easy, I seasoned with a little salt and pepper ginger spice blend and Teriyaki sauce

I cooked my tuna on each size for roughly 4 minutes because I like mine very rare, its delicious!

20130116-111528.jpg

The more well done you want your Tuna, the longer it should cook

I have included more pictures below!

20130116-111454.jpg

 

20130116-111600.jpg

20130116-111613.jpg

20130116-111730.jpg

 

If you have any questions or comments please leave them below!

Let me know if you try this recipe and how you like it.

The tuna can be substituted with chicken or steak. be sure to cook chicken all the way through!

Happy eats folks!

Made with Love

-Alexandria Johnson

 

One thought on “Sizzle Sizzle Griddle! – Tuna and Fried rice

Leave a comment