One Hour Veggie Chili Recipe

20121207-133444.jpg

Chili will always and forever be one of my favorite dishes for fall and winter. I am making a return to vegetarianism but I am and have always been adamant about avoiding a bland and unsustainable diet. This Chili recipe much like most of my other favorites and usual dishes is far from flavorless, cardboard-esque or un-fulfilling.

I usually avoid canned vegetables and soups etc. because of preservatives and exorbitant amounts of sodium and the lack of nutritional value. I don’t claim to know the half-life of every micro-nutrient in every morsel of food but I do my best, I look for fresh or frozen fruits and veggies but what I do not have the patience for is beans, I always imagine them taking far too long to cook fresh. Chili is bean heavy, that was my dilemma, but since I don’t do it very often I used canned beans, corn, and tomatoes but I did cut some fresh peppers and onions and added a about two cups of frozen onions and peppers that I needed to use.

Overall this is not a bad recipe, I actually think its one of the healthier cups of chili I have had in terms of fat, sodium, preservatives etc.  I loved it! If you like your chili chunky you will love this. If you like it a little more soupy, you will like this recipe with a little more broth or water or runoff from the canned veggies. Bon appetit mon amis!

20121207-132758.jpg

VEGETARIAN CHILI

Prep time: 15 mins
Cooking time: 45-60 mins
Serves 5-6
Ingredients
1 can Bush’s Chili beans (mild) 
1 can Bush’s Kidney Beans
1 can yellow corn
1/2 cup of vegetable broth
1 can diced low sodium tomatoes
1 fresh red  bell pepper chopped into large chunks
1 fresh green bell pepper chopped into large chunks
1 yellow onion chopped
2 tbsp olive oil
1 tbsp cayenne pepper (adjust according to taste)
1 tbsp cumin  (adjust according to taste)
1 tbsp chili powder  (adjust according to taste)
1 tsp sea salt
3 allspice pebbles (optional)
 
 
 Prep
Drain Corn, Kidney beans and Tomatoes
Chop onions and peppers
 
Cooking Instructions 
1. In a large pot or large saucepan heat olive oil and seasoning on high for 1 minute
2. Add peppers and onions to oil and seasonings, stir to mix and then let simmer for 5 minutes stirring as needed
3. Add beans, corn and tomatoes stirring after each addition until all ingredients are well mixed
4. Add vegetable broth and stir until well mixed
5. let chili simmer for 30-40 mins/until desired texture is achieved stirring regularly
6. add seasoning if needed and serve 
 
Serving suggestions: Serve with cornbread or tortilla chips, add shredded chicken breast if you like meat, Serve over rice for a south of the border feel or even throw a little cheese on top and call it a day!
I hope you all enjoy! 
 
Made with Love
-Zan
 
 

20121207-132845.jpg

5 thoughts on “One Hour Veggie Chili Recipe

Leave a Reply

