Fall Harvest – Delicious Roasted Veggie Recipe

20121126-150257.jpg

It’s the most wonderful time of the year! Its also the most delicious time of the year! I love cooking and experimenting with the seasonal foods I find at my local supermarket and green market. I wanted to share this recipe for Roasted Fall Veggies. I was looking for something hearty, healthy and easy to pack for lunch seeing that I work all week. I didn’t make it to my favorite green market this weekend but I was able to find a good mix of veggies in my grocery store without spending an arm and a leg.

I also made an Apple-Pear Oat Tart which was a result of me improvising after I left the supermarket without figs. I Was Originally going to roast the pears and figs with some brown sugar and butter.

As I type this I am enjoying the roasted veggies for lunch, (I have to shop on my break) and I had the tart for breakfast. They are both delightful!

I am currently not eating meat, I had some salmon that would pair great with these veggies, I made it with Tuna last week, but if you aren’t a big seafood person roasted chicken would be great, or you can do what I did and enjoy them as a meal. The hearty potatoes and squash are really filling and if you cook them properly they still have their nutritional value, cooking them to mush or dousing in oil and seasonings can turn this dish into a mushy fattening mess, so be careful to not overcook and be fair with the seasoning ans olive oil.

RECIPES

Roasted Fall Veggies

Prep Time: 20 Mins

Cooking time: 45-60 Mins

Ingredients

2 Sweet Potatoes (Red Yams)

1 1/2 lb Bag of mixed baby potatoes

18-20 pearl onions (any White/yellow onion is acceptable adjust number accordingly)

1/2 Butternut Squash

1 Small bag of baby Carrots

1 palm full of rosemary

1/2 teaspoon of sea salt

1/2 teaspoon of garlic seasoning

6 twists of fresh cracked black pepper

1/2 teaspoon of Cayenne Pepper

2 tbsp of EVOO

1 tbsp of Kerrygold Garlic seasoned butter (Optional)

Preheat oven to 400 degrees

1. Wash, peel and chop Yams into 1-inch thick medallions and put into baking dish (I used deep a cookie sheet/roasting pan)

2. Wash and Chop squash

3. Wash Carrots, Onions and potatoes

4. Combine all veggies and seasonings and add oil

5. Mix the veggies using tongs or hands until seasonings and oil is spread evenly (I prefer hands)

6. Drop butter in the center of the dish and toss it in the Oven for 45-60 mins

*Be sure to oil the bottom of your dish well, the yams stick easily! this recipe size should serve 5-6 as a side or 3-5 as an entree.

Pear-Apple Oat Tart

20121126-150837.jpg

Prep Time: 10 Mins

Cooking time: 30-45 Mins

Ingredients

1 golden delicious apple

3 Forelle Pears

(can be substituted with Bartlett or Seckel)

1 pack of Quakers Cinnamon Apple oatmeal

3 tbsp Brown Sugar (Or sugar in the raw)

1 tbsp of honey

1 tsp of maple syrup

1 tbsp of butter (salted or unsalted)

a pinch of rosemary (optional)

Bread loaf-sized baking dish

1. Wash the fruits and cut apple into 5-6 pieces

2. pour half of the oatmeal package into the bottom of the dish and add 1/4 cup of water

3. add butter and rosemary to pan

4. Place apples and Pears on top of the oatmeal bed

5. Cover the mixture with sugar, syrup, honey an remaining oatmeal

Let bake for 30-45 mins or until pears are softened and oatmeal bed is fully cooked

*Serves 2-4. Suggestions: Top oatmeal with the fruits for a sweet breakfast. Eat warmed with ice cream for a tasty dessert, or enjoy it alone!

I hope you all enjoy! Please let me know if you use the recipe, if you like it, how you tweaked it, wine pairings, ANYTHING lol.

ENJOY!

20121126-152141.jpg

Love,

Zan

20121126-152053.jpg

Leave a Reply

