Keep your face to the Rising Sun

20121121-101455.jpg

Being that I am deliberate and sometimes overly analytical I decided to take my own approach to buying my 3-year-old cousins birthday gift. I am not a parent yet but I love children and I’ve had my fair share of time being a part of the village it takes to raise a child. Through that time and through time spent reflecting in my younger years and how they helped mold me into the person I am today by creating an OK base for me to build on I have come to understand how important it is for young children to be handled carefully and wisely. I try to be a positive contribution to that process with my younger family members and I was especially glad to do so this weekend when I found what, to me, is the coolest Barbie of all time!

20121121-094206.jpg

20121121-094623.jpg

Yes, that is a President Barbie! Yes, they even had her as a woman of color! I was delighted, to say the least to be gifting this amongst other things to my young cousin. Even if she doesn’t understand or even realize, I was giving her more than just a doll. I felt like I was giving her something that helps her increase her positive self image, something that lets her know what possibilities life holds and let her know that I believe in her, myself, other girls and women no matter where they come from or the color of their skin. Not to mention the recent re-election of our President, who happens to be a man
Of color making history, this was a really fun gift to give. A huge thanks to the White House Project and Matel for helping put such a great product on the shelves, and one of my favorite retailers, Target, for having it in stock!

I hope my little bitty birthday gift does at least a little something special for the young queen!

I also got her a book, I am, of course a huge advocate for early childhood development, parental engagement etc etc, so I got her one of the great books from my childhood; Brown Bear, Brown Bear!

20121121-095858.jpg

I am proud of my little cousin and I hope she enjoys her gifts. I look forward to seeing her in the coming years as she blossoms and spreads her wings learning to love life as a young Queen, to live it to the fullest and to never be afraid of how great she is becoming.

Love
-Zan

20121121-101809.jpg

Leave a Reply

