I thought I saw a Pretty Cat

While tidying up yesterday I decided to sort through a pile of old magazines and found some beautiful treasure! I have subscribed to Women’s Health, O magazine, Black Enterprise, and InStyle, and I tend to pick up a few other periodicals so you can imagine this magazine pile had grown into something special.
I didn’t intend to simply pile them up and only end up sorting through one but that is essentially what happened. I wanted to cut out some pieces for a new vision board but I didn’t make it very far, maybe next weekend?
I opened up the 552-page spring issue of InStyle and quickly came across a makeup and hair article featuring none other than the star of my favorite show, Scandal; Kerry Washington! I have been a fan of Kerry’s for some time now and I am currently in full denial about my obsession with her on-screen persona Olivia Pope. You can bet your bottom dollar that I had to hold on to this issue.

20121118-204808.jpg

20121118-204825.jpg

Kerry was taking some awesome Spring hair and makeup styles for a whirl. Despite the looks featured being from spring I decided to take them for a fall spin and ended up working them into my look for today. I tried to keep a warm foundation with blush as usual but the timeless cat-eye and two-toned/lined lip color added the pretty kitty element to my look. I love these two embellishments because they are demure and romantic yet unexpected and daring.

20121118-205703.jpg

20121118-205812.jpg

The cat eye look on Kerry was created with a liquid eyeliner, I am fresh out of liquid but I was dying to try this look and my favorite Estée Lauder consultant gave me a free eyeliner with my last purchase so I cracked it open and used the sharper tip to get a sleeker look.

For the lip color I lined my lips with MAC’s Russian Red matte lip color and filled in with Estée Lauder Blushing lipstick. Because I was trying out something new and a little bold I decided not to do anything elaborate or too daring with my eyeshadow, I went with a warm peach on the inner eye and faded into a bronze.

20121118-210510.jpg

If you have tried either of these looks using different techniques, products, colors, etc please share below via the comments section. I would love to get some new ideas.

Thanks!
-Zan

Leave a Reply

